Paula Hendricks

Author ~:~ Writer ~:~ Book Designer ~:~ Book Producer

About place

leave a comment »

I’m going to start posting my articles about place. Place informs me. It informs my writing and it is often what I like about a book or an author’s work. Can I imagine being in that place? Can I smell the flowers or the dirt in the street. Can I feel the cobblestones under my feet? or the heat of the sun in a sere land?

I’m often walking and looking at the spaces between buildings. Or taking a moment to assess how a space affects me. I ride trolleys and busses and underground trains. I love them! I love how they sound. I love the old cars and the new ones. I love the sense of sharing.

I’m going to investigate the spaces we call POPOs, which are public spaces owned privately. Here in San Francisco, Yerba Buena Gardens is a POPO. It is private and yet open to the public. The owners can close it down, or close it off, but it still has to be available to us, part-time.I don’t know how many we have, but I’m going to visit them.

My next postings will be essays I’ve written about architecture, about the city and how it affects me. I hope you like them as well.

Written by phwebnet

June 15, 2008 at 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

